We all know that Facebook is the most popular social networking website and everyone uses it, both for personal as well as professional use. It provides us the medium to stay in touch with our friends as well as know our customers in an easy way. However, if you want to delete Facebook account, then you can do that easily by following a few simple steps.
There may be many reasons to deleting your Facebook account like you have multiple accounts and you want to get rid of some of them or you are completely retiring from the online world. Whatever the reason maybe, you can either deactivate your Facebook account to take some time off and then get back to the network, or you can delete it permanently. You can go for whichever option you want depending on your requirements.
In this article, we will see how you can deactivate as well as delete Facebook account permanently by following a few simple steps.
Deactivate or Delete – What Should You Do?
The social networking site offers you two options – you can either deactivate your account or delete your Facebook account. The first option is just a temporary solution while the latter is a permanent one.
When you deactivate your account, none of your data gets deleted and when you login to your account once again after some time, everything will be there as you left it. Your profile won’t be visible to anyone and people won’t be able to search for you as well. But some information, such as the messages, may still be visible to your friends. When you login back, all the data will be restored in its entirety.
However, when you delete Facebook account, it will erase all your data from the social network and remove your profile completely. You won’t be able to login to your account anymore and if you want to use Facebook, then you will have to create another account using another email address.
In this article, we will be showing you 3 simple steps that you need to follow in order to delete or deactivate your Facebook account.
Read: Kik Login Online
How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account?
When you deactivate your account, it means that you have the option to return to Facebook anytime you want and retrieve all the data without any loss. If that’s what you want to do, then follow the below steps to deactivate your Facebook account temporarily.
- Login to your Facebook account.
- On the top right corner, click on the downward arrow on your profile.
- Now, click on the “Settings” option.
- Select “Security” from the left-hand side column.
- Click on the “Deactivate your account” on the bottom of the page.
- Provide a reason to deactivate your account, choose new admins if you run Facebook pages and then click on the “Confirm” button.
By following the above steps, you can successfully deactivated your Facebook account. Your profile won’t be visible and no one will be able to search for you while your account is deactivated. You can reactivate it again by logging it with the same email address and password and all the data will be restored.
How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently?
If you are sure that you won’t be using Facebook ever again and that you don’t need to have the account, then deleting it permanently will be a better choice. However, you should know that if you delete your account, there’s no going back as all your data will be deleted and you won’t be able to reactivate it or retrieve anything.
If you are sure about the deletion, then follow the below steps to backup your data from your profile and then delete Facebook account permanently.
- Login to your Facebook account.
- Now, click on the downward arrow on the top-right corner of your profile.
- Select “Settings” from the menu.
- You will see a link at the bottom that says “Download a copy of your Facebook Data”. You can use this option to download all your Facebook data including the messages, photos, videos and more on your computer.
- Next, you need to click on the following link – https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account
- Now, click on the “Delete” button and follow the steps to confirm the deletion.
It may take up to 90 days for Facebook to completely delete all your data from its systems and during this process, your profile won’t be visible to anyone.
So that was how you can either deactivate your Facebook account or delete it after downloading all your profile’s data. I hope that you were able to follow the steps easily and without any confusions. If you liked the article on how to delete Facebook account permanently, then let us know your views in the comments below and share it with your friends as well.